Space City Skeptics

The Official Blog of the Houston Skeptic Society

Archive for January 6th, 2009

Meh: Sanjay Gupta Selected as New Surgeon General…..

with 8 comments

It isn’t official yet, but I’ve now seen multiple news reports declaring that CNN’s own Dr.  Sanjay Gupta has been chosen by President-Elect Obama as the next Surgeon General. The best I can come up with on this development is that it could be worse. I’ve never been impressed with him, and he has displayed a concerning misunderstanding of the vaccine-autism manufactroversy in the past. But at least it wasn’t Mehmet Oz, Andrew Weil, Deepak Chopra, Dr. Jenny McCarthy, etc, etc. We’ll see I guess. I’d like to see Steven Novella take on the position to be honest.

Written by skepticpedi

January 6, 2009 at 11:53 pm

Posted in Medicine

Tagged with