Space City Skeptics

The Official Blog of the Houston Skeptic Society

Rome Wasn’t Built in a Day

with 3 comments

Below is an adaptation of a talk I gave as part of a panel at DragonCon, called “How to Combat Woo”.  My fellow panelists included Phil Plait, PhD, also known as the Bad Astronomer, D.J. Groethe of the Center of Skeptical Inquiry and host of the podcast “Point of Inquiry”, Jeff Wagg, Communications and Outreach Manager of the James Randi Educational Foundation, and Maria Walters, founder of the Atlanta Skeptic Society and columnist on the Skepchick.org blog.

My son attended the Naval nuclear power school a few years ago, including a crash course in chemistry, physics, electronics, thermodynamics, other subjects needed to operate and maintain a nuclear power plant. The students tend to be top achievers, interested in science and math, and would frequently ask for the theory. They wanted to know WHY not just how. The instructors would answer “this is outside the scope of this course, please just accept this so we can move on.” So my son and his classmates drew large black dots on the backs of their calculators, with Sharpies. When they were told to accept information for the sake of expediency, they’d ‘push’ this button and say “I believe.”

I told you that story so I can tell you this story. All of us have a button labeled “I believe” that we push. The button may be as simple as “I believe that my spouse loves me.” Or “education is a positive thing for society.” But most people of the world have other buttons that they push. I believe in magic, ghosts, witches, homeopathy, aliens, psychics, conspiracy theories, or one of a hundred versions of a god. And that button might as well be drawn in Sharpie, because it doesn’t work anymore, it is ALWAYS pushed.

I’m an engineer by training, and like to draw diagrams and pictures. I can’t think without a pencil or marker in my hand. If you’re like me, you think that if you can just explain something, a scientific topic for example, clearly enough, that your audience will nod their heads and say ‘oh, yes, now I see! You’re right, and I will adjust my thinking.”

The problem with those buttons that are painted on, they have to wear off. We, as skeptics, want to slice right through the armor that believers have plated up around themselves, which have built up by custom, upbringing, anecdotes, personal experiences, fuzzy thinking, and from lack of exposure to the scientific method.

It took me almost three years to get my own mother to check Snopes before she forwarded emails to me. I’m her daughter, you think she would trust me, but I still have to carefully work with her on issues with her health. Just this week, she told me, rather reluctantly, that she had gone to a chiropractor for some lower back pain, because ‘she was desperate”. This, from a woman with chronic kidney disease that reads my blog posts. I had to persuade my aunt to throw away her bowel cleansing kits and pills to ‘improve her liver function” even though she couldn’t tell me what her liver function was supposed to be functioning as. But, now they check Snopes, and were at least embarrassed to tell me about the chiropractor. These are intelligent women, but they have been told their entire life that these things work.

And, indeed, they DO feel better after a visit to the chiropractor. It’s a bit harder to explain the concept of ‘regression to a mean’ to them. But I could not do it AT ALL with a single clear, simple, unemotional explanation.

Rather than creating the Grand Canyon in a 40-day flood, presenting skepticism to those with a painted-on “I Believe” button is more a process of rain beating the mountains down into the ocean, of the weeds splitting the foundations. It is slow, it is one-on-one, and it can be frustrating. However, this is how we teach, one person at a time.

Written by Geek Goddess

September 6, 2009 at 3:47 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Being a former right wing, Evangelical Christian I can say that it is definitely like beating the mountains down into the ocean (Heck, I am still going through the process… not even sure where I am heading with my current skeptical thinking. Honestly, it’s really scary and difficult to change my own belief system because of all the indoctrination I went through up until my mid 20’s).

    What I think most affected me and set me down a path towards skepticism of religion is an insatiable appetite to learn. I think the most effective method to changing a persons core thinking is just to teach them how to learn and discern fact from fiction on their own and not worry so much about what they currently believe.

    ray

    September 18, 2009 at 8:21 pm

  2. Ray, thanks for sharing. It’s a slow process. Just last week I was listening to a podcast (maybe Reasonable Doubt, which you can find at http://doubtreligion.blogspot.com/, but I listen to several). A psychologist says research finds that when dealing with someone who has deeply held, dogmatic belief in something, the more you try to present evidence contrary to that belief, the more they will dig into their convictions. When dealing with a Biblical literalist, for instance, when you show them all the contradicting stories in the Bible, or the evidence of how parts of it were redacted or ‘harmonized’ by monks in the Dark Ages, they become more firmly convinced it is completely true and inerrant. Or someone who believes that vaccines cause autism becomes more militant and conspiratorial when you show them research and data that contradict this idea.

    You have to go slow and give people time to think about thing. You will never convince someone by wearing them down.

    GeekGoddess

    September 19, 2009 at 6:01 am

  3. Kick-ass article, good looking website, added it to my favorites.

    didsvionA

    November 24, 2009 at 4:22 am


Leave a Reply

